Home > Uncategorized > Why I Resigned As The Pastor Of Canaan Baptist Church

Why I Resigned As The Pastor Of Canaan Baptist Church

March 30, 2014

Dear Pastor and Friend,

I trust this post finds you well and happy in the service of our wonderful Lord. Thank you for your time and your consideration.

Since 1992 the Lord has blessed me to pastor three Independent Baptist Churches in North Carolina and Georgia. For the last eleven and a half years I have had the privilege of pastoring the Canaan Baptist Church of Covington, Georgia. What the Lord has done during those years has been nothing less than a mighty miracle of God, and I certainly give Him all of the glory. However, over the course of the last several months of praying, fasting, and seeking the Lord’s will, He has made it abundantly clear that my work at Canaan is finished. I trust that you’ll not try to read anything into that statement. The church is doing well. We continue to see people saved nearly every week and the outreach of the church has never been stronger. I’ve never served with finer leadership and am very pleased to say that during my entire ministry here we’ve never had as much as a cross word. The Lord has certainly been good to allow me and my family the privilege of serving Him here by serving these precious people. They have been so very good to us.

Therefore it is a very bitter-sweet time for me and my family. We love CBC very much. In fact we love them so much that we refuse to stand in their way of doing even greater things for God by being here out of His divine will. It is for that reason and that reason alone that as of this past Sunday evening I have officially resigned my position as pastor, established a pulpit committee made up of the deacons of the church and am at this very moment in the process of working a thirty day notice. When my family and I walk away the last Sunday in April, we’ll walk away from our dearest friends, a very gracious salary, benefits, retirement, and most importantly a ministry that for the last eleven and a half years we’ve gladly invested our lives in. There is only one reason that I would lead my family to do this, and that is the divine will of a thrice Holy God.

Since 1999 the Lord has blessed me to serve on the Executive Board of Macedonia World Baptist Missions of Braselton, Georgia. Since September of 2008, I’ve served as the President of the Board. During the course of that time, my burden for World Evangelism has continued to grow to the point that it has become all consuming. This past Friday afternoon, at the request of Dr. Thurman Wade, MWBM General Director for the last forty years, as well as a unanimous vote by the Executive Board, I have consented to become both President and General Director of Macedonia World Baptist Missions. The Lord has burdened my heart to plant churches all over the world by assisting local Bible believing Baptist Churches in getting their missionaries to the field. That is what God has put in my heart. However, let me explain first things first.

No directors at MWBM receive any kind of salary whatsoever. They are all supported as missionaries through local Baptist churches just like yours. Therefore, I’m asking God for a miracle. As of September at our annual conference, Dr. Wade will officially step down as General Director to become our Senior International Consultant. Then, should the Lord stay His coming I will assume the position of General Director. In the meantime I must raise the monthly support that our family needs to do what the Lord has called us to do. That’s where each of you come in. Would you prayerfully consider being a part of this mighty miracle by making the Caudill family a part of your monthly missions outreach? I’ll give you my word that your missions dollars will be wisely and prayerfully invested as we do what the Lord has called upon us to do. In order to be accountable, the home office will be receiving all of our monthly support at PO Box 519, Braselton, Georgia 30517. I’ll also begin booking meetings as of the first of May and would love to spend a week, a service or a Sunday with you introducing our ministry. Please call so that we can rejoice together over how the Lord is going to use both of us in His service. My personal cell number is 678-300-7641.

Until we sell our house and move to the Braselton area, the Lord has led us to join the Peoples Baptist Church of McDonough, Georgia. Peoples will be our “Interim sending church” until we make our final move. If you have any further questions about our ministry please give Pastor David McCoy a call at 770-914-7388.

Finally, let me say thank you again for your time and consideration. I’ll be praying that the Lord burdens your heart as He has mine for the ministry into which He has called my family and me. I look forward to hearing from you and rejoicing with you soon.

Prayerfully,

Dr. Scott Caudill
Ps. 28:7

Prayer Card

Categories: Uncategorized
