Home > Uncategorized > HAPPY NEW YEAR!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Wow!  Can you believe it?  2011 has come to a close and we’ve entered into the brand new year of 2012.  It seems only yesterday that we were entering into 2011.  Certainly we can say “amen” to what the Bible says in James 4:14; “Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.”  I don’t know about you, but the older that I get the more real and relevant that verse of Scripture seems to be to me personally.  Truly time is moving in a hurry, and therefore what we do for Christ we must do quickly. 

Therefore it’s my heart’s desire to make a difference for Christ in the year of 2012.  What about you?  I trust that each of us will determine to do so because when time is over, that’s the only thing that’s going to matter. 

If you’re wondering how that you can make a difference in 2012, let me encourage you to start by making much of the Bible in the new year.  Read your Bible, heed your Bible, live according to the precepts of the Word of God because as you do, everything else in your Christian life will fall right into place!  I often tell our folks here at Canaan, “Make much of the Bible, and the Bible will make much of you!”  A good rule to live by don’t you think, especially when the Bible says in Psalms 119:1-2, “Blessed are the undefiled in the way, who walk in the law of the LORD. Blessed are they that keep his testimonies, and that seek him with the whole heart.”  You can make a difference for our Lord in the new year, but falling in love with your Bible!   

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Glenn Ozburn
    January 4, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Thanks Pastor for the Words to live by. I find a lot of encouragement in those exact words of inspiration. Each and every day when I come here to work, I look up at this huge concrete, white building and think of the verse from Matthew 23:27,
    “Woe unto you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! for ye are like unto whited sepulchres, which indeed appear beautiful outward, but are within full of dead men’s bones, and of all uncleanness.”
    This old building may appear to be nice with the marble inlaid flooring and custom furnishings but every time I turn around, the maintenance men are having to do major work on this building. It is literally falling apart and I, along with my co-workers, have been caught more than once in a broken down elevator. To me it is just symbolism of the many souls that are working in this building, beautiful on the outside, falling apart on the inside. Pray for me daily as I work here and I’ll continue to pray for you.
    Thanks and God bless, Glenn

  1. February 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

